Home > Garifuna INTERVIEW > Garifuna-American Teacher SUSAN ARAUZ-BARNES Shares Her Struggle In Organizing Her Family Reunion (INTERVIEW)

Garifuna-American Teacher SUSAN ARAUZ-BARNES Shares Her Struggle In Organizing Her Family Reunion (INTERVIEW)

Garifuna-American Teacher SUSAN ARAUZ-BARNES

Photo courtesy of Susan Arauz-Barnes.

Copyright 2010 by Teofilo Colon Jr.  All Rights Reserved.

A few weeks back, I was asked by Garifuna-American Teacher (and Facebook friend)  Susan Arauz-Barnes about my availability for a Sunday afternoon in July for the purpose of photographing a Gaifuna family reunion taking  place in New York City.  At the time, I was available, so I told her my rate and we proceeded to figure out the details (how I would get there, when, etc) of this special event.

This blog post has been moved.  Click on the link to read the rest of this blog post.

  1. Kelvin Guity
    July 20, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    amazing story and one we should all be able to relate to. I applaud them for their great effort in attempting to ensure the sacrifices of our forefathers are not forgotten.

    • July 20, 2010 at 1:14 pm

      Thanks for writing about the ARAUZ Family Reunion, KELVIN GUITY!

      –Tio Teo

  2. Aquina
    July 20, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    Is really interesting because actually my family is planning a family reunion next year in the summer but it is going take place in honduras. I am waiting to see how that is gng to turn out.

    • July 21, 2010 at 1:37 am

      Thanks so much for writing about the ARAUZ Family Reunion, AQUINA. Hopefully this interview gives you some things to consider as you plan your own family reunion.

      — Tio Teo

  3. Nixon R. Arauz
    July 20, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    There are a lot of Arauz’s in Santa Rosa de Aguan. I am from Aguan my grandsfathers relatives are from Trujillo I want to know if the Arauz from Aguan count for your search. If not i wish you Luck with your search.

    • July 21, 2010 at 1:38 am

      Thanks for writing about the ARAUZ family reunion, NIXON R. ARAUZ! Hopefully your points help you all determine if you all are in fact related.

      — Tio Teo

  4. Diane Alvarez
    July 21, 2010 at 7:40 am

    I am so very excited about attending this event that we have been anticipating since last year. The Arauz family is related to my family through our fathers. My father is the son of Mr. Arauz (or Tio Mr. D) grandmother’s brother. We are talking 4 to 6 generations…. But to me we are all just family. We group up celebrating birthdays and holidays and now we are just faces on pictures that we reminisce about. Can’t wait to see everyone on Sunday! We are all packed! LOL

    • July 21, 2010 at 8:25 am

      Thanks for writing about the ARAUZ Family Reunion, DIANE ALVAREZ! I hope the Reunion turns out beautifully…

      –Tio Teo

  5. EVELYN ARAUZ
    July 22, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    I am looking forward to meet with my family once again, I have made it my business to let our children know we are related and how. Our always curious about that and I ask questions all the time. I proud of my brother Rodney Arauz for making a big effort to start this family reunion. See you all on July 25, 2010

    • July 22, 2010 at 11:46 pm

      Thanks for writing about your family reunion, EVELYN ARAUZ!

      — Tio Teo

  6. Ms. Arauz-Barnes
    July 27, 2010 at 8:55 am

    Nixon. I read your article and wanted to get in touch because I am sure we will find a link. I am always thrilled to see the ARAUZ name and was proud to see you represent it so well. Please get in touch:susanarauz@hotmail.com.

    • July 27, 2010 at 3:52 pm

      Thanks for writing about Nixon Arauz, MS. ARAUZ-BARNES!

      — Tio Teo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

