Home > Garifuna NEWS > Garifuna and Black People in Nicaragua?

Garifuna and Black People in Nicaragua?

Nicaraguan Blacks

Copyright 2010 by Teofilo Colon Jr.  All Rights Reserved.

Wanted to quickly highlight two news stories I came across on the Central American country of Nicaragua.  One is a little odd and the other is for travelers to Nicaragua.

This blog post has moved.  Click on the link to read the rest of this blog post.

  1. Carmichael
    June 12, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    I’m not sure what percentage of Black people in Nicaragua are Garifuna, but I do know that the black people are very mixed with Creole and indigenous blood

    • June 12, 2010 at 9:19 pm

      Thanks so much for writing about Garifuna and Black people in Nicaragua, CARMICHAEL! As you may have guessed, I also don’t know percentage-wise how many Black people in Nicaragua are Garifuna and being that I have never been to Nicaragua, I don’t really know the racial break-down over there. Other than to guess that the majority are meztizo.

      Thanks for contributing and letting us know a little bit about Nicaragua.

      — Tio Teo

  2. Carmichael
    June 24, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    Watching the World Cup is so interesting, because you see black players or mixed players on practically every team.

    One of the most interesting mixes, I think, are from Central and South America. Apparently a lot of the South American countries have a sizeable black population, but the negroes are heavily discriminated against.

    The same heartbreaking story from country to country. But when the time comes to represent, guess who is the best! Los Negroes.

  3. AVEL CABLLERO
    October 17, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    Hi my n[name is avel caballero and im garifuna my self… I was in the unithed states but bot of my parents are garifuna from honduras… Now i was really surprised when i fouonf out thgere was garifunas in nicaruagua i never knew that eihter my parents its was funny… SO i just wanted more info about the garifunas in Nicaruagua nad why alot of garinfuans from honduras guatemal and beliza dont realy knoe about them…. Did the garifunas in Nicaruagua have not been there for a while…??

    • October 18, 2010 at 6:20 am

      Thanks for writing and asking about Garinagu in Nicaragua, AVEL CABLLERO! It’s something that I hope to learn more about. I know a little but not as much as I would like. As soon as I can post more information about Garinagu in Nicaragua, I will.

      –Tio Teo

  4. Daysa Cordova
    November 16, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Hello Teo!

    I just wanted to shed a little light on this article (from what I do know). From what I understand, the majority of the black population is Creole. My best friend is from Nicaragua and she’s Creole from Bluefields, Nicaragua. Do you know the funny thing is though? She had NO CLUE about what the Garifuna culture was, where we came from and that there is a garifuna population in HER OWN COUNTRY! Crazy huh?? Yes, I know! Needless to say, I had to school her real quick about who we were, lol. I actually asked her about it after you posted the article about Miss Nicaragua 2010 being black. I asked my friend if she knew of her, she said no, but get this: my best friend’s mom knows Miss Nicaragua’s dad! Small world huh??!!? (My BFF’s mom knows of us Garinagu though!! lol!)

    • November 16, 2010 at 11:23 pm

      Thanks so much for writing about Garinagu in Nicaragua, DAYSA CORDOVA! Yes I eventually found out that Miss Nicaragua 2010 is NOT Garifuna. I don’t know any Garifuna from Nicaragua personally. I only know Nicaraguan Garinagu on Facebook. I have a small few as Facebook friends. I think 3 or 4. Come to think of it, I have met Nicaraguan Garifuna Activist KENSY SAMBOLA in person though.

      And yes, it sure is a small world. I get reminders about that (on this being a small world–especially in light of the Internet) on a weekly basis.

      –Tio Teo

  5. November 21, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    Interesting post. I just returned from the annual Garifuna Day festival in Orinoco, Nicaragua. While there, I spoke to the grandmother of a good friend who said that it was her father who journeyed down from Trujillo (she pronounced it Trucheeyo)and founded Orinoco in 1903. He was a Sambola (half of the population in Orinoco is named Sambola!) and married a Miskito woman from Sandy Bay, Nicaragua. Grandma said that it was founded on Nov 19, which is now celebrated every year in Orinoco with all the local Garifuna communities putting on a dance show (Brown Bank, La Fe, San Vicente, Marshall Point and Orinoco, along with a group from Tasbapauni and Bluefields (Kahkabila is a Miskito/creole community and you would know they weren’t Garifuna if you saw them dance😉 )). Grandma also said that her husband could, in his day, knock a drum better than any other person in the village (does knock mean beat?) She also gave a brief description of the wallo gallo ceremony which they still perform when someone is sick. Do they do that in Honduras as well?

    It was a very interesting conversation and I would love to hear more. Next year maybe!

    I love your blog! Keep it up!

    • November 22, 2010 at 2:49 am

      Thanks so much for writing, CASEY. There isn’t much known about Garinagu in Nicaragua and comments like yours help us ALL learn. By the way, I have a small group of Facebook friends who are Garinagu from Nicaragua and they ALL have the last name of SAMBOLA! LOL…😉 — Tio Teo

  6. Joseph Morgan
    January 27, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    I just want to know more about the Garinagu living in Nicaragua.
    I know that some Garinagu live in ORINNOCO but so little is heard
    about them. I also know that the Garinagu from Orinoco came to
    celibrate Garifuna settlement day Nuvember 19th, about two years
    ago. In Belize, Dangriga town, I certainly want to learn more about Garinagu in Nicaragua.

    • January 28, 2011 at 1:34 am

      Thanks for writing, JOSEPH MORGAN. Don’t forget, this blog has moved to http://www.beinggarifuna.com/blog

      I don’t have much information on Garinagu in Nicaragua other than from a few Facebook friends who are from there. As far as I know Garinagu are in Orinoco (as you note) and some in Bluefields.

      I am actually working on some information on Garinagu in Nicaragua for http://www.beinggarifuna.com Keep checking. I shoud have it up eventually.

      — Tio Teo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

