Home > Garifuna CULTURE > Garifuna Wanaragua Dancer Performers FLAVIO ALVAREZ and CARLOS GONZALES Talk About History of Wanaragua Dance

Garifuna Wanaragua Dancer Performers FLAVIO ALVAREZ and CARLOS GONZALES Talk About History of Wanaragua Dance

Copyright 2010 by Teofilo Colon Jr.  All Rights Reserved.

This blog post has been moved.  Click on the link to read the rest of this blog post.

  1. Garifuna Day
    May 1, 2010 at 5:27 am

    Great video….known pops for ever and Carlos and commend them for the contribution in preserving Garifuna in the state of California.

    • May 1, 2010 at 5:36 am

      Thanks so much for writing/commenting on the post on Garifuna Wanaragua Dancer/Performers FLAVIO ALVAREZ and CARLOS GONZALES, Garifuna Day! It’s such a terrific piece with a LOT discussed. Hopefully, more people are exposed to this video clip.

      –TIo Teo

      • Beatrice Johnson
        May 1, 2010 at 9:24 am

        Do you know the Arzu family and their history in Guatemela? My family are from HONDURAS my grandmother was born in Guatemala. My great-grandfather after being in Belize changed his name to Johnson. How would I search for that family?

      • May 1, 2010 at 1:13 pm

        Thanks for writing BEATRICE JOHNSON! I know a few Arzu’s from Honduras, and an Arzu or 2 in Belize through Facebook. But other than that, I am not sure. I know a Johnson from Honduras (I think) but that’s the extent of it. As you can imagine it is VERY difficult identifying Garifuna people with English last names like Johnson. At this point, perhaps the best thing is to look me up on Facebook, friend-request me (that is, if you haven’t already–I DO have a Beatrice Johnson as a friend on Facebook) and/or scan the Groups/Pages on Facebook that relate to the subject of Garifuna culture, or Garifuna people. That would be a good first step. Does that sound like a plan Beatrice?

        –Tio Teo

  2. Keidy Martinez
    May 1, 2010 at 10:26 am

    WOW…. that was amazing. It was so good to learn more about my garifuna history.

    • May 1, 2010 at 1:17 pm

      Thanks so much for writing about the Los Angeles Wanaragua Dancer/Performers video clip KEIDY MARTINEZ! Wasn’t it incredible? I can go on and on about this clip.

      –Tio Teo

  3. Leslie Bernardez
    May 1, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    Very heart warming. Simply, Inspirational, intellectual and informative. One thing I can tell you about Garifuna Women, they have been influential in making decisions for the well-being of our people. In another words our strong personalities serves to empower others. It is one of those things that makes us unique.

    • May 1, 2010 at 1:19 pm

      Thanks so much for writing about the Los Angeles Wanaragua Dancer/Performers LESLIE BERNARDEZ!!! I could go on and on about this informative video clip. At some point, I will HERE. I already have on the BEING GARIFUNA Facebook page.

      –Tio Teo

  4. Georlen Arzu
    September 27, 2010 at 1:02 am

    This was a very educational video. My respect to the young performer Carlos Gonzales and his uncle. I learned the history behind the traditional dance. People in my family perform waranagua dance. I believe that its an awesome tradition that has been keep by or Garifuna people…

    • September 27, 2010 at 2:18 am

      Thanks so much for writing about FLAVIO ALVAREZ and CARLOS GONZALES and the History of the Wanaragua Dance, GEORLEN ARZU!

      –Tio Teo

  5. Dioxi
    November 14, 2010 at 12:16 am

    I keep coming back to this video. Very informative and touching. I hope we can continue to be multi-generational as a people; passing along our heritage to our children and receiving it from our forefathers.

    • November 14, 2010 at 6:59 pm

      Thanks for writing DIOXI. I also hope we can do a better job as far as passing along our heritage to younger generations of Garinagu.

      — Tio Teo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

