Home > Garifuna CULTURE, Garifuna NEWS, Garifuna PHOTOS > GARIFUNA HERITAGE MONTH Declared In New York City (MARCH 2010)

GARIFUNA HERITAGE MONTH Declared In New York City (MARCH 2010)

Copyright 2010 by Teofilo Colon Jr.  All Rights Reserved.

Photos by Teofilo Colon Jr.

On Thursday, March 11, 2010 in the Rotunda of The Bronx Supreme Court Building, Bronx Borough President, RUBEN DIAZ JR read a proclamation declaring March 11, 2010 to April 12, 2010 GARIFUNA HERITAGE MONTH in the Bronx.

This blog post has been moved to beinggarifuna.com   Click on the link to read the rest of this blog post.

  1. March 13, 2010 at 12:26 am

    Tio thanks for the write up and posting the photos. You are doing a great job. Thanks also for featuring http://www.apalacioexchange.com as a link on this site. Seremein nia bu.

    • March 15, 2010 at 2:19 pm

      Thanks for writing/commenting on BEING GARIFUNA Mrs Palacio! And yes, I felt that it is important to link to other websites so that this blog con be something of a resource for those who are interested in Garifuna culture. Since your website is so invaluable and filled with news, stories etc as they relate to the Garifuna community, I HAD to include the link. And should I come across any other substantial websites as they relate to Garifuna culture or the Garifuna community, I will include those as well.

      -Tio Teo

  2. March 13, 2010 at 1:37 am

    I feel blessed being what I am.. And thats a young proud garifuna man.. I see progress in our cummunity with representing the culture more with love and more admiration.. this is a beautiful sight aswell… much love to all my garifuna people world wide…

    • March 15, 2010 at 2:11 pm

      Thanks so much for commenting/writing on BEING GARIFUNA Young P! Yes, there is progress in the Garifuna community.

      -Tio Teo

  3. Leslie Bernardez-Benedith
    March 13, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    It warms my heart to witness how far we have come as a people. We have made history and the world will soon know who we are. Thank you for sharing. I was not able to attend due to previous commitments. I am proud of being a GARIFUNA WOMAN.

    • March 15, 2010 at 2:10 pm

      Thank you sooooo much for commenting on BEING GARIFUNA Leslie! Yes, Garinagu should be proud of the proclamations.

      -Tio Teo

  4. Lisa Chimilio Evans
    April 4, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    I feel so grateful to you, Teo. I am so encouraged to see what is happening in our Garifuna community. I appreciate the fact that you are a vise for me living in another state; you help keep me in tune and educated. Especially thru the pictures, that show me (us) our accomplishments. Thank You !!!!

    • April 5, 2010 at 12:46 pm

      Thanks for the moving compliment on the BEING GARIFUNA blog Lisa Chimilio Evans. I wish maintaining a blog wasn’t so time-consuming, but comments like yours make all the time and effort worthwhile.

      I always say that Feedback is important, thanks for taking the time to provide/write yours.

      Best,
      Tio Teo

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

